top of page

Are You Tired?


The past three weeks of my life have been long and wearisome. For reasons I won't get into, I have felt overwhelmed and like I can't keep my head above water. On multiple occasions I have had to say no when asked to hang out, grab lunch, have dinner, etc. This season of life is nothing new to any of us. We have all been in the thick of business, difficulties, stress, anxiety, and things that keep pulling us in every direction. That's where I find myself right now, and if I'm being honest, almost every time I find myself in this place, I don't feel like spending time with God.

This morning I wanted to do everything else but sit at the feet of Jesus. Why? Because I wanted rest. I can't tell you how hard it was to write that last sentence. How can it be that after following Jesus for the last 20 years I still forget where my rest comes from? How can it be that after seeing Him refresh my dry and weary soul over and over again, I've forgotten that He is the Well I long to drink from?

I remember as a kid playing baseball in the summer heat. I was a catcher for most of my high school years and wearing all that gear on days where the temperature reached almost 100 degrees naturally left me feeling thirsty. In my desperation to quench my thirst, I would often come home and pour a glass of sweet tea or pop open a can of soda. In the moment it felt satisfying. As a teenager, the last thing I wanted to drink was water because there was no sugar or flavor in water. But whenever I was that thirsty and did in fact drink water, it was always sweet. There is simply nothing like a col glass of water when you are thirsty. Though I thought sweet tea was what I wanted, it was not the thing that would satisfy me most.

That is exactly what we often do isn't it? When we are tired and worn, we search for rest and satisfaction everywhere else but the source of living water - Jesus. Check out how David puts it in Psalm 63:1-5: "O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory. Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips."

The only way you and I will learn to find our satisfaction in God is if we learn to run to Him when our souls are thirsty; when we want anything and anyone else but Him. It is not natural for us to turn to Jesus when we are thirsty. It is instead natural to turn to the things of this world that our sinful flesh desires.

So, this morning by the grace of God, I chose time with Jesus over other things. To no surprise, He delivered and exceeded my expectations. I'm still tired and slightly overwhelmed, but my soul has found deep satisfaction and rest in Him, though my eyes are heavy and my heart is burdened. I sought the Lord and He answered me in a dry and weary land where there was no water.

Whatever is pulling at your affections and attention today, Jesus is better. Don't allow yourself to be drawn to pursue after things that are only shadows of true joy and pleasure. At the right hand of Jesus, there are pleasures forevermore (Psalm 16). Run to Him and He will fill you and refresh your tired soul.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page